Publicly Authorized Waste of Money


7-limpe-o-ambienteIs it just me or does anyone else think changing the batteries in your smoke/CO2 alarm at Daylight Savings Time is a waste of good money? You must have some really cheap batteries in your alarm, if they only last six months practically unused. You don’t change the batteries in your remote every six months and you use that more often. It’s that or you are burning stuff left and right and using that alarm frequently.

And don’t tell me that changing the batteries at Daylight Savings Time is a good way to remind people. Hogwash! When the batteries in your alarm are dying, those alarms chirp incessantly all day, everyday, for at least a month. You’re not forgetting to change the batteries, you are ignoring the chirping. No one can forget to change them with that chirping going on. (I know this well; I don’t change the batteries until they die.)

So I find the public approval of throwing out partially used batteries appalling. Has anyone considered how much money is wasted every year doing this? Has anyone considered the increased pollution from throwing out these un-recyclable items so often? I am going to continue to be frugal and get every drop of juice out of my batteries. Unless money is no object for you and you could care less about the environment, I encourage you to do the same.

