Things I’ve learned so far in “late young adulthood”


Things I learned - 30As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve spent the last 10 or so years, unraveling old “truths” and learning the real truths of life.

Side note: I was originally going to title this “Things I’ve learned so far in my Middle Age years”, but apparently I’m not middle aged. To be accurate in my description, I looked up when middle age starts. I thought it started at 35 when you get letter from your life insurance company saying it time to increase your coverage. Or when your risk for pregnancy complications become great. But no. According to Wikipedia, middle age doesn’t start until you’re 45. So what does that make us late 30 and early 40-somethings? Late young adulthood. Yeah – that’s what I said.

So on to my list

  • What others think of me matters less than what I think of myself
  • Put your oxygen mask on first before you help others
  • Nothing can make you happy. Happiness comes from within yourself
  • I am more powerful than I give myself credit
  • Kindness and patience pay much greater dividends than anything else
  • Every friend is a real friend, but not all are meant to follow your journey forever
  • You may not always get what you want, but you will always get what you need
  • I can’t control everything that happens to me, but I can control how I react and respond
  • Most battles are not worth fighting
  • Life is too short to not dare and to not try
  • Life is too too short to be miserable
  • You can’t appreciate the peaks if you don’t experience the valleys
  • I alone am responsible for the choices I make in my life
  • I alone am responsible for determining my life’s path
  • Don’t let life happen to you, MAKE life happen

And as the title suggests, this is just so far. There is much much more to learn.

