7 years


649abebf66672017badbaf51fbb4c43bWow, it’s been 7 years. 7 years since I closed one major chapter and started another. 7 years since I left that insecure girl behind and start my journey to become a confident woman. 7 years since I said enough is enough an unlocked my self-imposed cage and freed myself. 7 years.

7 years ago I made a decision that terrified me. There were so many potential repercussions that I would have rather avoided. I had no idea how we would make it or if we would. What would happen if we had to go back to the ways things were? It would have been easier to not do anything and stay as I was. But the fear of things staying the same strongly outweighed the fear of any of those repercussions.

And in those 7 years I have struggled. Struggled in ways I never would have dreamed of. But I have also grown. I have grown in ways I never thought I could. And I am so amazed and proud of where and who I am now. A pride that eluded me 7 years ago. A pride that I had felt was for other people. A pride that carries me forward to do more and be more. My heart, my soul, my whole being is so happy, grateful, and thankful for that decision 7 years ago.

I am eternally grateful to my knights in shining armor who help me around the corner that day. You know who you are. I didn’t know who would come help but you did. And they have continued to be there for me as I for them.

I say this for those who are struggling with a big decision. It is terrifying. You don’t know who may be there for you and who won’t. But when the thought of things staying the same scares you more than making the change, you will do it. And you will not only live through it, you will come out on the other side much much stronger, wiser, and better for it.

